About DIG Leadership

Contact Info

Cindy Todd
DIG Chair, 2021-2022

Cell: 616-822-0045

Doris Wells-Papanek
DIG Past-Chair, 2021-2022

Cell: 847-772-9959

Previous DIG Chairs

Rande Blank, 2017-2019

Dr. Janis Norman, 2014-2017

Dr. Robin Vande Zande, 2006-2014

Dr. Martin Rayala2002-2006 

DIG Chair 2021-2022  |  Cindy Todd

Dr. Cindy Todd is the Art Education Program Chair at Kendall College of Art & Design of FSU in Grand Rapids, Michigan. She is a co-creator and key designer of the Grand Rapids Public Museum School, a design thinking/ place-based secondary school that is a proud recipient of a $10,000,000 XQ Super School grant. Cindy has been a co-facilitator of NAEA’s SummerStudio: Design Thinking for the past 4 years. Before becoming a professor, she taught K-12 art for over 14 years, teaching at all levels, elementary, middle, and high school. She was named the NAEA’s 2019 Art Educator of the Year and has served as Michigan’s Art Education Association President and the NAEA Western Region Vice President. She helped Michigan’s State Board of Education revise their art education standards and presents keynote addresses to conferences across the country.

DIG Past-Chair 2019-2021  |  Doris Wells-Papanek

Doris has over twenty years of practice as a user experience designer in Silicon Valley, plus nearly 20 more as the founder and Director of the Design Learning Network (DLN). The purpose of DLN is to empower young learners of all ages, as well as educators and practitioners; to become confident and creative problem-solvers, act as purposeful makers, take ownership of their learning, and make mindful choices. Wells-Papanek holds a bachelor’s of product and environmental design from the Kansas City Art Institute, and a master’s in curriculum and instruction with a focus on action research from National Louis University.